How to Tell if Someone Deleted Their Facebook Account (Updated)
In today’s digital age, nearly everyone maintains a profile on at least one social media site, where they can communicate with old friends, make new contacts, keep up with celebrities, find new sources of entertainment, and more. Nine out of ten people could tell you without hesitation which social media site they prefer.
Users are also likely to have an account with the one social media service they rarely access. It could be Twitter, it could be YouTube, and it could be Snapchat for someone else. But Facebook will be the focus of this discussion.
Let’s say a user decided they weren’t going to use their account anymore and deleted it. In what ways could you verify that the user’s account has been permanently removed?
That’s what we’ll talk about down here. Don’t leave until you find out the conclusion to this story!
How to Tell if Someone Deleted Their Facebook Account
There is a dangerous similarity between the warning signs of someone blocking you and the warning signs of someone deleting or deactivating their account when it comes to restrictions like these, especially on Facebook. We totally get how frustrating it is to be in the dark about something like this, especially if you don’t know the person in question on any other social media.
It is for this reason that we have made every effort to separate the symptoms of account blocking from those of account deletion or deactivation. For that reason, we’re going to do our best to provide the details you need.
1. Search Their Deleted Profile on Facebook
To find out if someone has deleted their Facebook account, all you have to do is do a search for their name on Facebook. If the profile comes up in the search results, it’s safe to assume it’s still up and running; otherwise, it’s clear that the user has either deleted their account or blocked you.
If you come across the profile and the following message appears,There’s a problem loading this page., It’s possible that the page has been moved or the link has expired. Make sure you’re clicking on the right link.it’s possible that the person has deleted their account or blocked you.
If you try to find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook, deleted their account, or deactivated it by searching for their profile, you won’t get very far. This is because if you try to look up their account by entering their name here, you will notice that their profile does not appear.
It wouldn’t change in any of those three scenarios. A Facebook search won’t help you find the answers you need.
I was wondering if there might be another source. Stay with me here.
2. Text Them on Messenger
To be concerned about whether or not someone has deleted their Facebook account, you and this person must have had a close relationship and communicated frequently through Facebook Messenger. Now that you know their account has been deleted, you can verify the status of your previous conversation with them. To what extent do you feel prepared? So, let’s get started.
Step 1:To use Messenger, launch the app on your mobile device. When you get to this point, you’ll be on theChats tab. To find them, simply enter their name into the search bar at the top of the page and click theSearch.
When you look for their name and see that their account has been deleted, the first strange thing you’ll notice is that their profile picture is missing. But even if someone blocks you, you can still view their profile picture.
Select their name to start talking to them.
Step 2:Once you open up their conversation, you’ll notice that the usual message input bar at the bottom is missing. In its place, please find the following message:Messenger cannot contact this user at this time..
While this message will appear in either case (whether you’ve been blocked or the account has been deleted), there are some other subtle differences that can help you tell them apart.
To give you an example, when you’ve been blocked, you’ll also see aDELETE button below the conversational message we were discussing earlier. When one of the chat participants’ accounts has been deleted, this option will no longer be available.
As an added bonus, even after blocking someone, their name and profile picture thumbnail will remain at the top of your chat window with them. If their account has been removed, however, you will only see a black circle where their profile picture once was and no name where their profile used to be.
Step 3:Tap the black circle or profile picture at the top to see if there is any trace of a deleted account. Even if they’ve blocked you, you can still view their profile in Messenger.
If you click on the black circle and nothing happens, then their profile has been permanently deleted from Facebook.
3. Get Help from Mutual Friend
You can do one of two things to get the answer to your question if you have a reliable friend who is also friends with this person on Facebook and is connected to you both. Look at these:
Inquire if they can still locate this person by searching for their profile or looking through their friend list. You’ve been blocked if they are able to. If they still can’t, their account might be deleted.
Does this mutual friend have any pictures of them online? If that’s the case, you should see if the person is still tagged in any of their photos. In that case, you have more evidence that their account has been removed.
Deactivating vs Deleting Facebook: What’s the Difference?
Have you ever had trouble differentiating between deleting something and deactivating your account on a social media site? At one point in time, this was synonymous in the minds of social media users everywhere.
However, as we continued down this digital path, we found that these ideas were being applied in distinct ways across various social media sites. The distinction between these capabilities may still be murky to those of us who have never had cause to use them.
Here, we hope to set the record straight for everyone on Facebook about this matter. The only real distinction between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account is the permanence of the former. Deleting a Facebook account is a final and irreversible step, while temporarily suspending it has no such consequences.
If you deactivate your account, it will appear to your friends as though you have deleted it, but you will still be able to reactivate it at any time. Therefore, temporarily pausing your Facebook account is the same as deactivating it.
And how long can this “while” really be? 15 days? 30 days? 90 days? The answer, at least according to Facebook, is infinite. Because Facebook doesn’t believe in making their users meet deadlines, your deactivated account will remain inaccessible indefinitely. This inactive state will persist until you either activate it again or permanently delete it. That is to say, deactivating your account won’t actually delete it until you delete it manually.
Here ends our blog post. We’ve come a long way toward understanding Facebook’s deactivation and deletion processes and their respective distinctions today. We also talked about how to recognize when someone has deleted their Facebook account versus when they have simply been blocked. Please let us know in the comments if our blog has clarified anything for you.